What are these “four living creatures” in heaven?

Isaiah 6:2-3; Ezekiel 1:5-14; Ezekiel 10:20-22; Revelation 4:6-8

The four living creatures symbolize the exalted beings who serve God as His agents and the guardians of His throne (Ps. 99:1). They are higher order angels – cherubim and seraphim.

– Their wings point symbolically to their swiftness in carrying out God’s orders, and their eyes point to their intelligence. 

– Their presence, together with the 24 elders and a myriad of angels around the throne (Rev. 5:11), shows that both heaven and earth are represented in the throne room.

– The main difference between the types of heavenly beings known as cherubim and seraphim is their appearance: a cherubim has four faces and four wings, while a seraphim has four faces and six wings. 

– In the Bible, both the cherubims’ and seraphims’ main role is to sit at the throne and worship God.

– Cherubim appear in several books of the bible, including Genesis, Ezekiel, Kings and Revelation. 

– Their four faces are ox, lion, man and eagle, although Ezekiel exchanges the ox for the face of a cherub. 

– Seraphim use two of their wings for flight. As the cherubim, they are among the highest order of angelic beings.

Source reference: SDA 1Q19 Quarterly

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s